Usher Farm Happenings–Week of Jan. 25, 2015

What’s happening on the farm today (and the rest of the week)? 

Here is what I/we are (verb)-ing:

Wearing:  Cozy and matchy-matchy! It’s cool but not cold today so I opted for warm clothes, but my TOMs with no socks (boo to socks!).  I took this picture right before I stepped out to go grocery shopping.

DSC_0657

(Red Sweater: Old Navy; Boyfriend Jeans: Loft; Shoes: Vegan TOMs; Fitbit Charge; Fair Trade/Eco-Friendly Purse: freeset – this company uses warehouse space at Christian Service Mission in Alabama where my parents do a lot of service trips)

I’m also wearing my aprons – most of them have pockets for my camera lens! I wear aprons for cooking and washing dishes. Dishes never, ever end!

DSC_0676

Eating: Lots of Honeybell oranges. Our annual gift from z’s parents came on Friday and we’ve already eaten 5!

DSC_0681

I would blame my fruit-obsessed husband, but this is currently what I’m looking at:

DSC_0674

Here are some other things we’ve been eating lately – 

Gluten free pasta with homemade sauce and marinated mozzarella

marinated mozz

Shrimp stir fry

head on shrimpshrimp stir fry

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Bread (it got a little out of control…)

gf bread2gf bread

These AMAZING coconut milk popsicles (minus the salted caramel)

popsicle

Dinner last night was grilled coconut crusted tilapia, baked sweet potato, and a spinach salad with Honeybell orange and sun dried tomatoes

IMG_3352

Cooking: Here are some of the things I’ll be cooking today and later this week for our meal plan:

Quinoa Veggie Burgers with Roasted Red Pepper Relish (I just finished making these and will cook some for dinner and freeze some for later. I’ll probably do another post on this process.)

Vegan Slow-Cooker Caramelized Onion Chili with Gluten Free Honey Cornbread

Asian Salmon in Foil with Rice and Veggies

Doing this week: Blogging, meal planning, babysitting M&M tomorrow, working a bunch, exercising (if I type it then I’ll do it, right?), have dinner with one of z’s coworkers and his wife, playing with Louis, etc.

DSC_0658

pup

Listening to: Lots of Sam Smith (non-stop since we saw him live), Taylor Swift (1989), and Superfruit – I just figured out how to make a playlist on iPhone, so I’ll be listening to a lot of these guys at the gym!

sam smith livesam smith2sam smith3

Reading: The Irresistible Henry House by Lisa Grunwald – I just finished Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides and The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani  – both of which I loved.

Smelling: This new candle from Terri – perfect for tonight’s forecasted weather!

falling snow candle

Looking forward to: Garden planning!

DSC_0659

Loving lately: Our new living room layout!

DSC_0677DSC_0678DSC_0679

Loving this new dish towel that z gave me for Christmas:

DSC_0680

Loving this new wall decal from my cousin – it’s in my ladies suite right under my mirror! It says “Music is the prayer the heart sings” – love it Smile

music

This post was super fun so you can expect some more posts like this…actually, please don’t expect them, just accept them if they ever come again!

Leave a Reply

