Date Night: Blind Beer Tasting (IPA Edition)

Two weeks ago, z and I decided to challenge ourselves by creating “Friday Night Date Nights” for under $25. It’s tough to eat out for that amount of money, so we’re typically cooking dinner at home. Last week, z cooked a nice meal and got The Producers on DVD. I had never seen it before (I know, I’m shocked too!) so I was really excited and surprised by his choice.

For this week’s date night, it was my turn to create a date under $25! It has been raining all day, so I knew I wanted to stay in. I didn’t want to copy z’s idea from last week – all though dinner and a movie is always a good way to go! So, to get a little creative, I’m going to make dinner and do a belated “end of Prohibition” blind beer tasting! Prohibition ended 80 years ago, yesterday! Craziness!

We already had some items in the fridge/freezer that would make a good dinner, so all I had to do was supplement what we had.

Dinner: Roasted Cod and Scallions With Spiced Potatoes 

Before it hits the oven…

DSC_0278 (2)

Never enough lemon zest! I love my microplane!

DSC_0279

Final product was delicious! I forgot to take a picture before we started eating and made z re-arrange his plate! Ha :)

DSC_0281 (2)

A mix-and-match six pack is $9.99, so I knew that would be cutting into our budget. I chose to do six different India Pale Ales (IPAs) since I know z enjoys them and they can really vary between breweries. IPAs tend to be a LOT hoppier (is that a word?) than other beers and often packs a higher alcohol by volume(ABV)-punch. That’s why we only plan to use 4 of the 6 beers which will be like having 2 beers a piece. Plus, we’re staying in and not driving anywhere!

Preview of the six pack:

DSC_0280

DSC_0281

From the left:

  1. The Fort Collins Brewery Rocky Mountain IPA ABV=6.2%
  2. Victory HopDevil IPA ABV=6.7%
  3. Dogfish Head 60-Minute IPA ABV=6.0%
  4. Samuel Adams Whitewater IPA ABV=5.8%
  5. Red Hook Long Hammer IPA ABV=6.2%
  6. Stone IPA ABV=6.9%

I ended up going with numbers 1, 2, 3, and 6 for our tasting, as the other two are beers we have in our fridge more commonly.

Here is our tasting table:

DSC_0275

DSC_0277DSC_0278

DSC_0275 (3)DSC_0276 (3)

(Louis wanted nothing to do with our little tasting event)

DSC_0277 (3)

After scoring the beer, I showed z the beer and he tried to arrange them in the order he thought was correct based on his notes. He got 2 out of 4 right.

DSC_0275 (4)

The Winner: Stone IPA!

DSC_0279 (2)

Dessert on a budget: Dove Dark Chocolate (Did you know that 100% of the cocoa used by Dove is from farms that are Rainforest Alliance Certified™!?)

DSC_0282 (2)

Fun night!

Disclaimer: I was not compensated for this post by any of the above breweries or companies.

Leave a Reply

