Merida–Day One–A Special Tour

After a good sleep, my aunt and I got up with plans for a tour that she had arranged. We met up with Jorge, from Adventures Mexico, and headed out!

I started asking Jorge all about the historic buildings and Merida’s history…

DSC_0382DSC_0383DSC_0384DSC_0385

Just as we were about to enter the market, my aunt turns to me and tells me that this isn’t just any tour, it was a CULINARY tour!! I think I shrieked with excitement!! :)

DSC_0388

The market was very busy and very hot! We passed by all different types of vendors including one selling shark!

DSC_0390DSC_0391

DSC_0392

The fruit was fresh and juicy! DSC_0393DSC_0394DSC_0395

After about 30 minutes or so, I started feeling weird. I got lightheaded and felt like I might pass out…Coke and empanadas to the rescue (and tons of water).

DSC_0396DSC_0397

The veggie empanada came with a tomato sauce and was delicious! Just what I needed to get back on my feet! Yes, I was THAT tourist that couldn’t handle the heat! Good thing it was only that one time! Auntie M and Jorge got me feeling better in no time, and I was able to continue the tour and learn TONS about Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine!

Did you know that eating hot peppers can become addictive?

Did you know that a habanero anywhere but Mexico is considered a Scotch Bonnet pepper?

Did you know that even though habanero peppers are extremely spicy, they do not mess up your stomach like other peppers do?

 

Culinary tour – To Be Continued…

Leave a Reply

