The Voice in New York.

photo 1_thumb[1]

photo 3_thumb[1]

photo 2_thumb[1]

photo 5_thumb[1]

photo 2 (2)_thumb[1]

photo 4_thumb[1]

the voice_thumb[2]

So, as many of you know, I went to New York over the weekend to audition for The Voice. I have been wanting to do something like this…pretty much all my life and I was running out reasons not to go for it. I got on the train on Saturday, checked in to my hotel, ate dinner, and proceeded to toss and turn until my wake up call at 5:30am.

After some hot tea and breakfast, I hopped in a cab and headed to the Javits Center. I was there by 6:30am, along with hundreds of other crazy people. It was chilly but I got in the back of the line with some nice people and waited. And then we waited some more. After about an hour and half we made it in to the warm building to be shuffled through several more lines before getting in to groups of 10. We waited with our group until it was time to go in to an audition room where everyone would sing in front of each other. We got in, sat down, and tried to pretend we weren’t nervous. I went 4th and sang “Big White Gate” by Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. I did pretty well. There were no amazing singers in my group, but we were all proud that we did it. Needless to say, I didn’t make it to the next round of auditions.

I can’t say I’m not disappointed, but I can say that I’m proud of myself for doing something I never thought I would do! No regrets here!

Bucket List:

Audition for a big singing competition.

Check.

The end.

One thought on “The Voice in New York.

  1. D — I am proud of you! Don’t quit at just one try, go to more auditions! Remember when we went to see if we could get to be extras on a movie beng made in DC, forgot which one, but we did not get called. Auntie M p.s. Happy St. Patrick’s day.

Leave a Reply

