Salt Block Scallops.

Look what I got for Christmas! In a gift exchange game nonetheless…

A HIMALAYAN SALT COOKING PLATE (or salt block)!

salt block 001

salt block 002

Isn’t she lovely??

I was so excited to use it, so after some research, I got to work heating it up! First, I put it in cold oven and brought it up to 200 degrees. After the oven reached 200, I took it out and let it cool down. When it was time for dinner, I put the salt block on the gas burner and turned it on low for 10 minutes. Next, I raised the heat to medium and heated it for 15 minutes. Lastly, I raised the heat to high and heated it for another 15 minutes. After that it was HOT and ready to be used!

salt block 008salt block 009

Most of the recipes I found were for scallops, so I took the hint and based dinner on a recipe for Salt Block Scallops with Szechuan Peppercorns and Citrus!

I only bought a half pound of scallops because they’re SO expensive! While my block was heating, I patted the scallops dry with a paper towel and put them on a clean plate.

salt block 003

Next, I pulled out my simple ingredients (modified from recipe): limes, organic peppercorns, and good olive oil!

salt block 004salt block 006

Before cooking, the scallops were dressed with olive oil and pepper.

salt block 007

I also made a dressing out of lime zest, lime juice, a splash of OJ, a squirt of honey, and some pepper.

lime dressing

Once all the prep was done and the block was hot, it was time to cook!

salt block 012

(pretty horrendous picture, but I love my photographer ;)

salt block 011

The first scallops went on with a SIZZLE! Perfect :)

salt block 015salt block 016salt block 023

salt block 024salt block 027

salt block 036

We had the scallops with lime dressing, corn muffins, and a mixed green salad!

salt block 038

The scallops were perfectly cooked and incredibly tender! Yum!

 

So fun! So delicious! 

 

Coming up next: Friday night at P. Brennan’s, Christmas Eve, and Christmas 2011 Parts I, II, and III

One thought on “Salt Block Scallops.

Leave a Reply

