Dinner Thaime.

While flipping through Mama Pea’s new book, I stopped on the Vegetarian Pad Thai recipe and decided that we were having Thai for dinner (dinner thaime, dinner time, get it?)!

Blog Pictures 049

After I went to the gym (yes, I still exercise) I was going to walk to the Giant, but then a light bulb went off in my head: Bangkok 54 has a Thai grocery store!!

Check out my goodies:

Blog Pictures 043

Blog Pictures 044

Blog Pictures 045

All that for 20 bucks! It would be so much more expensive in a regular grocery store! And a bonus…The woman at the checkout was so sweet and helpful! She asked what I was making and helped me with an ingredient I forgot to get! I will definitely be back!Blog Pictures 055

This blog has seen many, many visits to the Bangkok 54 restaurant and several deliveries from them as well! Though we may order different entrees, we always order the fresh rolls as an appetizer! Nothing can compare to how they make them, but I thought it would be fun to recreate them!

First up: Peanut Dipping Sauce: Water, organic creamy unsweetened PB, agave, hoisin, soy sauce, chili garlic sauce, and sesame oil!

Blog Pictures 051

After the sauce was made, I pressed and sliced the tofu, made the rice noodles, and chopped the veggies.

Blog Pictures 056Blog Pictures 057

z took over on the rolls so I could attend to the main course…

Blog Pictures 058

Blog Pictures 059

Main Entrée: A reinterpretation of Mama Pea’s Pad Thai!

I sautéed bell peppers, mushrooms, snap peas, and water chestnuts in olive, peanut and sesame oils with some red chili flakes. While those were cooking I brushed a mixture of hoisin, soy, agave, and water on to the pressed tofu and baked it for 15 minutes. After I baked it, I put it under the broiler for another 5 minutes to get a nice texture.

Blog Pictures 061

Thaime to Eat!

Blog Pictures 066

Blog Pictures 068

Lettuce, cucumber, carrot, tofu, rice noodles, basil, and avocado!

Blog Pictures 071

This peanut sauce should really be called OMG Sauce…because OMG, it’s so good!

Blog Pictures 070

We served the sautéed veggies and tofu over rice noodles with lime and cilantro!

Blog Pictures 062Blog Pictures 065

My dinner drink was something new and fantastic! Jones Soda Co. has a calorie-free soda called ZILCH (no aspartame here!!). I had the Black Cherry ZILCH and it was soo good!

Blog Pictures 069

Such a good dinner!

It’s Louis Thaime Time:

Since we got Louis I’m not the only spoiled one that lives in this house anymore (phew, it’s hard work!). See what I mean…Blog Pictures 040

z knew that Louis needed a bed, but we didn’t want to keep spending money on something he was going to rip to shreds in five minutes. Then we found… the Orvis Tough Chew Dog’s Nest!z ordered this without me know (how sweet) and he even got Louis’ name embroidered on it! It’s so cute and he loves it!

Blog Pictures 041

I think z likes it too…

Blog Pictures 073

Ok thaime time to start my Friday! So excited for a three day weekend with my boys!

One thought on “Dinner Thaime.

Leave a Reply

