Seedy Granola.

I ran out of granola bars, so instead of buying new ones, I decided to make a batch of my own! I searched for a nut-free granola bar recipe but came across this Ina Garten recipe instead.

The recipe called for almonds, so I replaced them with sunflower seeds!

First, I mixed up the oats, coconut and sunflower seeds in a bowl.

Blog Pictures 013

After a good mix, I spread the oat mixture on to a baking sheet to toast for 10 minutes.

Blog Pictures 014

After everything was nice and toasted, I added some ground flaxseeds (instead of wheat germ), raisins, dried cranberries and the liquid mixture  that I boiled on the stove (butter, honey, vanilla, brown sugar, and salt).

Blog Pictures 016

Once everything was coated and well-mixed, I placed it in my silicon baking pan and pressed it down firmly using a piece of wax paper.

Blog Pictures 017

Time for the 300 degree oven!

Blog Pictures 018

After about 28 minutes it smelled great and was a beautiful brown color!

 

Blog Pictures 019

Blog Pictures 020

Now I have to wait 2 hours before I cut them! Oh the anticipation Smile 

Happy Sunday! Hope you all enjoyed the beautiful weekend!

Leave a Reply

