Happy Mardi Gras (I Miss New Orleans).

Tuesday was Mardi Gras so I decided to be festive and make gumbo (for the first time). I was vegan for the entire nine months I lived in New Orleans! It was tough and I practically lived at the Arabella Station Whole Foods! I was a pretty happy vegan, but now that I know about seafood and Louisiana cooking, I think I missed out…

Now…on to the GUMBO!

I looked at a couple recipes and the first called for an oil and flour roux.

Blog Pictures 013

I waited for the roux to brown (~10 minutes) and then ended up adding a couple tablespoons of butter for good measure (what’s a roux without  butter?).

Blog Pictures 014

While the roux browned, I chopped up all the veggies: jalapenos, green pepper, onion, tomatoes, parsley, scallions, and celery.

Blog Pictures 015

Celery + green bell pepper + onion = the “holy trinity of Cajun cooking”

Blog Pictures 016

Sautee the veggies in the roux!

Blog Pictures 017

Add scallions, garlic and parsley!

Blog Pictures 018

Let’s add a little Cajun flava!

Blog Pictures 020

Ok tomatoes, it’s your turn!

Blog Pictures 021

Time for the veggie stock!

Blog Pictures 019

Blog Pictures 022

Now in to the crockpot to get nice and flavorful!

Blog Pictures 023

Blog Pictures 024

Gumbo toppings:

Blog Pictures 001

Blog Pictures 002

It’s not a dinner (in our house) without a fresh salad!

Blog Pictures 004

I did it! I made gumbo!!

Blog Pictures 006

What’s the peaking out? Oh yea…I added shrimp to the crock pot when it was almost time to serve!

Blog Pictures 007

What’s Louisiana cookin’ without seafood??

Blog Pictures 008

YUM!

Blog Pictures 009

Happy Mardi Gras Smile

2 thoughts on “Happy Mardi Gras (I Miss New Orleans).

Leave a Reply

