Pan de Coco.

I saw a recipe for Pan de Coco (coconut bread) on the Whole Foods website and decided it was time to overcome my fear of yeast doughs!

Ingredients: Flour, sugar, salt, coconut milk, unsweetened coconut, yeast, butter, and warm water.

Blog Pictures 025

Fun!

Blog Pictures 026

Recipe on screen:

Blog Pictures 027

I mixed the coconut, sugar, yeast, and warm water together and let it sit for about 20 minutes.

Blog Pictures 028

Blog Pictures 029

While I waited, I mixed together the flour and salt in another bowl.

Blog Pictures 030

I used light coconut milk and reduced fat shredded coconut to cut down on the fat a little.

Blog Pictures 031

I added the flour, coconut milk and melted butter to the yeast mixture.

Blog Pictures 002

It formed a beautiful dough!

Blog Pictures 003

Blog Pictures 004

After I formed the dough, I covered it with flour and put it in a huge bowl!

Blog Pictures 005

Once covered with a towel, I stuck it in the oven to rise.

Blog Pictures 006

I have to wait how long??

Blog Pictures 007

An hour and a half! Ugh, patience isn’t my thing!

I can’t believe that I let 90 minutes go by and I didn’t even take a peek at my dough! I’m glad I waited because my dough really puffed up Smile

Blog Pictures 032

I punched it down a little and cut it into individual portions. The recipe said it made 8 rolls, but mine made a lot more than that!

Blog Pictures 033

I stuck the 13 rolls on two greased baking sheets and sent them back to the dark oven to rise again…

Blog Pictures 034

…for 45 more minutes! More waiting!

Blog Pictures 035

They rose again! I took the rolls out of the oven and then preheated it to 350 degrees.

Blog Pictures 036

While baking, these babies made the whole house smell amazing!

Blog Pictures 038

A comparatively-short 25 minutes later…the rolls were light brown and beautiful!

Blog Pictures 041

You smell good. You are pretty. I think I love you.

Blog Pictures 042

Blog Pictures 043

Blog Pictures 044

I let them cool…for a couple seconds and then picked out the biggest roll for z and to split!

Blog Pictures 046

Blog Pictures 048

Blog Pictures 051

When I broke it open steam came pouring out. Wonderful, coconutty dough smelling steam!

Blog Pictures 050

OMG. (Yes, OMG).

These were awesome. Hot, doughy, slightly coconutty and perfect.

Let me tell you that these beauties were 100% worth the wait!

Go make these now!

If you use margarine, they will be vegan.

I’m sure they can also be made with a gluten-free flour. Just make them. Now.

YUM.

This pan de coco will make you loco. <—good one, huh?

 

Off to babysit MG! Love that little boy <3

3 thoughts on “Pan de Coco.

  1. Looks delicious! I’m always looking for breakfast bun recipes that are just slightly sweet, and love coconut. One thing, though: I doubt the recipe would work with a gluten-free flour, since the gluten “scaffolding” is what holds up a yeast bread. Think you’d wind up with a very heavy pancake without any gluten.

Leave a Reply

