The Return of the Date Night

Things have been so crazy lately with this cold, finishing the semester and work. I’ve hardly seen my friends, family or my boyfriend! Eek…let’s not even talk about the gym membership I supposedly have Annoyed 

z and I hadn’t had a date in a while, so Friday night we decided to make dinner together and then go see a movie. He hadn’t picked a recipe from this month’s Food and Wine magazine, so I politely made asked him to pick one that morning. I stopped by Whole Foods after work to get all the ingredients!

Blog Pictures 004

Potato Soup with Spicy Shrimp!

Blog Pictures 006

After I had a little peeler mishap (my poor fingers!), z took over the peeling and chopping of the potatoes!

Blog Pictures 007

I sautéed some shallots in olive oil…

Blog Pictures 009

…then we added the potatoes.

Blog Pictures 010

After cooking the potatoes for about 5 minutes, we added the vegetable broth.

Blog Pictures 011

See ya in 20 minutes!

Blog Pictures 019

z cleaned and pulled the tails off of all the shrimp.

Blog Pictures 012

Then he tossed the shrimp in some harissa (mixed with olive oil).

Blog Pictures 013

Blog Pictures 014

While the soup cooked we prepared the side dish (also from F&W) by snapping and blanching some green beans.

Blog Pictures 008

Blog Pictures 018

Look what I found:

Blog Pictures 015

Abita Christmas Ale! Oh joy joy joy Smile

Blog Pictures 017

They also had Fireside Chat…in cans!

Blog Pictures 016

z was a little excited and decided to be my beer model!

Blog Pictures 020

Blog Pictures 021

Blog Pictures 022

After the beer fun, I got back to work on the green beans. First I sautéed some garlic in hot oil then added ground ginger and crushed red pepper flakes.

Blog Pictures 023

When the garlic started to brown, we added the blanched green beans and stir fried them.

Blog Pictures 025

After the beans were done, we finished off the soup by adding the harissa-covered shrimp. We took the soup off the stove when the shrimp were pink with curled tails. Notice how creamy the soup is…I love my immersion blender!!

Blog Pictures 024

Add a little fresh, organic whole wheat sourdough and you have a nice little dinner!

Blog Pictures 026

Blog Pictures 027

Yum!!

Blog Pictures 028

After dinner, we headed to Chinatown for a movie…and a little treat! Chocolate milkshake for z and a kiddie sized peppermint bark for me!

Blog Pictures 029

It was perfect!

Blog Pictures 030

We saw the 10:40 showing of Love and Other Drugs with Jake Gyllenhaal and Anne Hathaway. The language was a bit graphic and there was a ton of nudity, but I really liked the movie!!

Saturday morning was pretty leisurely. I don’t think I got out of bed until 10! Hooray. We had breakfast and read the paper before heading over to z’s house to check on the construction process. We then headed to the Container Store to figure out a closet situation…

All that domestic stuff makes you kind of hungry, so we stopped at Whitlow’s on Wilson for lunch!

z got the open faced turkey sandwich on sourdough with mashed potatoes, gravy and cranberry sauce!

Blog Pictures 032

Blog Pictures 033

I got the Mediterranean Tuna Sandwich with Kalamata olives, mesclun greens, roasted artichokes, peppers and onions, fresh basil and Dijon mustard, served on toasted ciabatta! It came with a pickle and coleslaw!

Blog Pictures 031

Blog Pictures 034

Huge sandwich! I ate a tiny bit more than half and now have a delicious dinner in the fridge!

Blog Pictures 035

Blog Pictures 036

I got a sudden urge to bake after our little lunch outing, but I didn’t have enough butter to make what I wanted to make. I quickly found a recipe for Puddle Cookies and got to work.

Blog Pictures 037

Blog Pictures 038

Blog Pictures 039

Blog Pictures 043

Now it’s time to get my bum in to gear and go to the gym for the second day in a row! Ugh, I must get back on my schedule ASAP!

 

Lots of leftovers for dinner.

Lots of homework and studying to do.

Less than a week until my semester is over.

 

p.s. Friday marked the first birthday of this blog. The end.

4 thoughts on “The Return of the Date Night

Leave a Reply

