¡Yo Voté!

That’s right! I voted in today’s DC Primary Election! I felt very proud walking to my polling place (which was only 4 blocks away) and casting my vote! Casting my vote before 10am I should add ;)

Blog Pictures 029

(z and I love the new whiteboard, it’s so fun!!)

Blog Pictures 016

Blog Pictures 015      

Before I voted, I had an early breakfast. I got up with z before 6 this morning so we could have coffee together. I know, you can puke now ;)

I had a two egg omelet with some shredded cheese, ketchup and chili garlic sauce. I also had 2 slices of baby cantaloupe and black coffee!

Blog Pictures 007

Blog Pictures 008

Blog Pictures 009

Blog Pictures 010

Blog Pictures 011

I’m really procrastinating on a 5 page paper I have to do for school. It’s due Friday and I just find so many other fun things to do besides writing the paper! Ah!

After voting, I came home and realized my baby eggplants needed to be cooked! Good thing my latest Prevention magazine had an easy and healthy eggplant parmesan recipe!!

Blog Pictures 018

Blog Pictures 017

Slice eggplant and lay on baking sheet.

Blog Pictures 019

Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.

Blog Pictures 020   

While the eggplant bakes, get to work on your sauce. I used a jar sauce but kicked it up a notch with fresh onion and garlic.

Blog Pictures 021

Blog Pictures 022

Blog Pictures 023

I also added some Mrs. Dash for good measure.

Blog Pictures 024

Once the eggplant and sauce were done, I started layering.

Layer one: sauce, eggplant, cheese.   

Blog Pictures 025

Layer two: chopped fresh broccoli and sauce (I had broccoli in the fridge and knew extra veggies couldn’t hurt)

Blog Pictures 026

Layer three: the last of the eggplant, sauce and cheese.

Blog Pictures 027

In to el horno!

Blog Pictures 028   

All done and lookin’ mighty fine!

Blog Pictures 030

I let it cool on the counter while I went to a 45 minute Core Conditioning (read: ALL ABS!) class at my gym.

Even though I had a good breakfast (and quite a few snacks), I was really hungry for lunch when I got home at around 1:30.

Eggplant parm, carrots (zanahorias) with hummus, and agua!

Blog Pictures 033

Really, really delicious! I definitely had a little more!

Blog Pictures 034 

So it’s 5:30, I still haven’t showered, I’ve only written my thesis and a couple notes and I’m waiting for z to come home! I wonder if I can convince him to eat some eggplant parmesan for dinner ;)

 

Time to get back to my Google Reader PAPER!

 

procrastination station in an apartment near Chinatown!

One thought on “¡Yo Voté!

Leave a Reply

