A Twisted Birthday!

Friday night z and I went out for SG’s birthday! We met up with R&SG as well as T&D! SG picked a precious little wine bar called Twisted Vines! I loved it. We got several bottles of red wine (a Malbec blend, a Spanish, and a Rook red). I actually think there were 4 bottles of wine but I can’t remember the other one…They were all really delicious. It was a tie between the Malbec and the Spanish for me!

SG is avoiding dairy right now, so I picked up an assortment of cupcakes from Sticky Fingers Bakery in Columbia Heights.

Blog Pictures 003 Blog Pictures 004

Chocolate, peanut butter, mojito, carrot cake, red velvet and vanilla! YUM!

Blog Pictures 005

Those of us drinking red wine definitely had purple teeth! Ha! We had a really great time :)

Happy Birthday SG!!

Saturday morning I dropped z off at class and headed home. I took the metro up to the Columbia Heights Community Marketplace to get some produce. 

Blog Pictures 009

Blog Pictures 010

Blog Pictures 011

Blog Pictures 012

Three baby cantaloupes, two red peppers and two mini eggplants.

Blog Pictures 013

Blog Pictures 014

Blog Pictures 015

Blog Pictures 018       

I ran some errands, did some school work and headed up to my parents house to pick up my last book and have lunch with my dad.

Lunches with dad usually mean Chipotle. Today was no different ;)

Blog Pictures 001

Awesome veggies tacos!

Blog Pictures 002 

Hey daddio!

Blog Pictures 003

After lunch, dad went to Whole Foods with me so I could pick some stuff up for dinner at z’s. Thanks for lunch and good conversation dad!

 

I got to z’s around 7 and we watched some 9/11 coverage. The images are still so unbelievable and are ones I will never forget. <3

 

Dinner time! I brushed my farmer’s market peppers with olive oil and sprinkled them with some Cajun seasoning. 

Blog Pictures 004

Then I got to work on the star of the meal. A 0.84 ounce piece of fresh swordfish from WF!

Blog Pictures 005Blog Pictures 006

Olive oil, salt and pepper. That’s all.

Blog Pictures 007

Everything cooked really fast!

Blog Pictures 009

Blog Pictures 011

Blog Pictures 012

Blog Pictures 013

Blog Pictures 014

Blog Pictures 017

I served the swordfish and peppers with some baby greens an awesome veggie recipe from Giada!! Snap Pea and Cucumber Salad: blanched snap peas, sliced English cucumbers, slice grape tomatoes, and a simple lemon-dill vinaigrette (lemon zest, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper and fresh dill)! It was soo delicious and everything went really well together!

Blog Pictures 020

I also had a glass of Pinot Grigio ;)

Blog Pictures 021Blog Pictures 023

Sunday morning. z went to class. I headed home and was super hungry!             

Blog Pictures 026

Homemade latte and oats in an almond butter jar :)

Blog Pictures 027 

I <3 my espresso machine!

Blog Pictures 030

Lots of cleaning.

Lots of homework.

I should also probably go to the gym…

 

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

