We Rented Bikes!

Bar Harbor – Day Three (August 12, 2010)

I really liked the breakfast options at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel!

I got two hard boiled eggs, blueberry yogurt (topped with granola and fruit), peach juice and coffee!DSCN7033

The eggs were so good that I went back for another. This time I put it on an English muffin (with butter!!!). DSCN7034

After a filling and fueling breakfast, we took our coffee out on the porch to sit in the rockers <3

DSCN7035

DSCN7036

Clothes were changed and bikes were rented. Off to the historic carriage roads in Acadia National Park!

DSCN7039 

Yes dear friends, that right there…is a tandem bicycle!

DSCN7041

My parents really like each other :)

DSCN7042

I got all three of us while riding down a hill. Who says I don’t take risks!? ;)

DSCN7045 DSCN7044

DSCN7046

DSCN7047

My dad estimated that our carriage trail ride was about 20 miles. Enough to work up a major appetite! Our hotel was right in Bar Harbor, so we could walk to and from the bike shop and straight to a ton of restaurants! We decided on Rupununi!

DSCN7060

DSCN7061

Since I was wearing shorts and a tank top, it was a little chilly in the shade. Nothing a hot mug of chai won’t fix ;)  

DSCN7048

We split the nachos (fresh made chips with homemade salsa, house veggie chili, cheddar cheese and a side of sour cream) as an appetizer. DSCN7049

For my meal, I ordered the Vegetarian Panini (Roasted peppers, tomato confit, mixed greens, charred sweet onions & pepper jack cheese inside a toasted ciabatta). DSCN7050

SO GOOD!

DSCN7054

Instead of fries, I got a side salad that was full of fresh veggies! DSCN7051

Dad got a burger and fries…with a side of TOURIST (see his Maine shirt – he’s cute!).

DSCN7052

Mom got the Best Beet Salad (Roasted Red & Golden Beets stuffed with Maine Goat Cheese, sliced and layered over mixed greens, topped with pine nuts and an herbed olive oil) with chicken.

DSCN7053

Pretty centerpiece.

DSCN7057DSCN7055DSCN7056

DSCN7058

After lunch, mom tried to take a nap I changed into my touristy awesome new sweatpants and then my dad and I went for a walk around town.

DSCN7066

DSCN7062

Am I really seeing this?

DSCN7063 

Really??

DSCN7064 

We spotted a turtle in town and knew it had my mom’s name all over it. We came back to the hotel to pick her up and report our findings!

You know where we were off to…

DSCN7068

Turtle Power!

DSCN7069 

I’d say she’s happy!

DSCN7074

Because our lunch was big and late, we shared the turtle and then had ice cream for dinner!

Heath Bar crunch for dad, coffee Heath Bar for mom, and Almond Joy for me!

DSCN7075

Biodegradable bowl of YUM!

DSCN7076

Lobster ice cream.

DSCN7078 

My dad looks so cool here.

DSCN7077 DSCN7080

After “dinner” entertainment!

DSCN7084

Dessert anyone?

DSCN7086 

It’s a lobster sunset!

DSCN7085

Another great day in Maine!                 

We’re going puffin/whale watching early tomorrow morning!!

Leave a Reply

