Cabbage and Cheddar Gratin

I get the Whole Foods newsletter and updates all the time. Sometimes I save recipes, sometimes I don’t.

The other day I saw a recipe for Cabbage and Cheddar Gratin and it really caught my attention. I’ve been on a major “cabbage kick” lately because it’s delicious and super cheap! Mixing cabbage with cheddar cheese did seem a little odd, but I decided to try it anyway.

Just a few simple ingredients.

Ready to be mixed up!

In the oven getting warm and toasty!

MM! Cheesy, crunchy, cabbagey goodness!

It tasted like Thanksgiving! I guess it was the thyme, rosemary and sage. YUM!

Now, Denise…why such a small serving?

Well, you see…the gratin took 45 minutes in the oven. I couldn’t exactly wait that long, so I decided to cook the rest of the cabbage.

The usual suspects.

Sauteing in a little EVOO.

I think I ate three bowls which is why I wasn’t super hungry when my gratin creation was done. Oops…

I have cabbage and cheddar gratin for lunch for the next few days. Excitement. I’m thinking it might go well with a tofu pup? Kind of German-French-Inspired? I’ll experiment…

In other news…my cat has been stationed in front of the oven all night. Some of you may remember my mouse incident from one month ago exactly.Β  Well, that mouse was found under my oven. The fact that Fievel is perched in front makes me think that I have another rodent. UGH.

Really though, if that mouse showed its face…z said it would be “lights out,” and I think he’s right. My kitty is feisty and super quick!

mouse be gone. cold be gone. monday be gone.

4 thoughts on “Cabbage and Cheddar Gratin

Leave a Reply

