Fat Tuesday.

So, it’s Mardi Gras (Fat Tuesday). I wasn’t a huge fan of Mardi Gras, even when I lived in New Orleans for nine months. Now, I love New Orleans – The people, the culture, the food, the music, Jazz Fest, etc. just not Mardi Gras. It was a bit too crowded and smelly…I did see Lance Bass though and yes, I screamed like a tween.

I will always have a special place in my heart for New Orleans <3 Happy Mardi Gras, everyone!

Today’s breakfast was a sweet one:

  • 1/4 cup each – oats, water, and unsweetened soymilk
  • 1 Tablespoon Cinnamon Raisin PB
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons Chia seeds (I sprinkled a lot!)
  • Peeled and sliced Gala apple
  • Sweetened coconut
  • Lots of cinnamon

Microwaved all but the coconut for two minutes and mixed it all together! MMM!

For lunch, hpants and I drove to WF to get some fresh air. It’s way too cold and snowy to walk!

I heated up some leftover moroccan stew over some mixed greens. The cinnamon was still so fragrant and delicious. Hope I don’t get sick of it, because there is plenty more where that came from!

After lunch, hpants and I browsed samples and we each got a mini cupcake! I got a chocolate one and savored every last bite!

I came back to the office and made myself a cup of hot Pumpkin Spice tea to get the chill off! Worked like a charm :)

Around 3:30, I ate my apple, then had some trail mix and ate my zbar on the way home around 6:30.

I stopped by the sporting goods store to get a pair of snow/ski pants. It was slim pickin’s and I thought 129 was the best deal, so I bought a cute pair of polka dot pants. When I got to the register…they were marked down to 78 bucks!!! I was so excited :)

I got home a little after 7:30 and made some dinner.

Leftover moroccan stew (two meals in a row) topped with 1% CC and sriracha with some red pepper for scooping!

Tonight’s mouth cooler-downer was a snack-sized ww tortilla with goat cheese.

Then…the sweet tooth kicked in. I had my single truffle for the day but it wasn’t enough, so I made some hot chocolate!

I ate quite a few (read: ALOT) marshmallows while the water was heating up and then topped my dessert drink with some more! I told you I was an addict…

I really emphasized the fat in Fat Tuesday today.

Moving on.

LENT STARTS TOMORROW: Some people give things. Some people give things up.

hpants and I had a lengthy discussion about what we were going to give up. We were stumped. Here is the decision we made:

We pledge to run 8 miles (or more) a week. If we do not run the 8 miles by the end of the week, we have to give up sweets for the next week. This will continue for 40 days.

We will do this. hpants said “no excuses bc it’s for jesus.” Right she is. No excuses, just mileage.

Now it’s time to brush the sugar out of my teeth, talk to my love and go to sleep. I have a lofty goal of waking up to start my 8-mile challenge. HA – we’ll see if that happens.

workin’ for my beads in an apartment near Chinatown.

Oh please, I’m totally kidding.
One thought on “Fat Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

