“Just turn on the flash.”

I went to the gym last night for some cardio (treadmill, crosstrainer). I was thankful to have TVs on both machines so I could watch the Steelers win!! I stayed at the gym for about 45 minutes and then headed home to shower.

I picked z up at the airport at exactly 5pm. I’m glad he’s home, especially after all the airport problems. We stopped by his house to drop off some stuff and check on things and then headed back to DC. He said he wanted to take me out to dinner as a thank you for picking him up :) A date!

We walked to Asian Spice in Chinatown. It was a nice day, but started to get chilly as the sun was going down. The restaurant was nice and warm and was decorated for Christmas! We sat upstairs next to a window at a cozy table for two. Last time we came here, we sat outside. Not tonight!!

To start, I ordered a glass of the Trimbach Pinot Blanc (a little too sweet) and z had a Dogfish 60-Minute IPA. We shared the seaweed and tofu soup, and the Asian Spice original salad with honey miso dressing. The seaweed salad on top of the salad was amazing! I couldn’t stop eating it :) I tried to take a picture of the soup, but the restaurant was so dark, and I didn’t want to disturb anyone…

Even though it’s a bad picture, you can see the huge chunks of tofu!

For my meal, I ordered the Garden of Eden (A surprised array of season fresh vegetables, broccoli, cauliflower, shiitake mushroom, enoki mushroom, asparagus and fried tofu in light garlic sauce). z ordered the Thai Basil Chicken (Sliced chicken breast sautéed with chili, garlic, bell pepper and sweet basil leaves). The server asked him “Medium or spicy?” z said spicy…and spicy it was. He was sweating!!

I went to take a picture of our entrées and z said “Just turn on the flash.” I was so happy he said that :)

Everything was delicious, but I took most of my entrée home (z took some of his home too)because we were stuffed. We were grateful for the walk home…

When we got home we watched It Might Get Loud. We saw it in the theater the week it came out and knew we had to buy it when it came out on DVD. It was just as good the second time. I <3 Jimmy Page.

We majorly slept in this morning. It’s so hard to go back to work after such a great vacation! Even though it was late, z still made coffee and I washed some dishes. I packed our lunches and we were on our way to work! Have I mentioned that I sort of like this guy??

Because of the time, I had 3/4 of a Luna bar for breakfast (I ate the first 1/4 before the gym last night):

Breakfast was not sufficient, so I definitely wanted my MMS!

Dehydrated carrots and zucchini with a clementine:

The zucchini is paper-thin and chip-like! I love it!!! The carrots were sweet but a little too tough.

For lunch, I had last night’s leftovers with some Christmas salad that’s on its last leg:

I’m really hoping some things go through at work…I’d love to be working in DC again. This commute is driving me a little crazy.

back to the grind in an apartment near Chinatown.

2 thoughts on ““Just turn on the flash.”

Leave a Reply

