The Holiday Blues 5k

I know you’re supposed to have the “holiday blues” when the holidays are over and you’re in withdrawal…however, as previous posts have shown, I’m in a holiday funk (eating holiday cookies and candy, not working out enough, etc.).

I knew I needed to go to the gym tonight, but as the last post shows, I came home and ate dinner first (which is usually a bad sign). After dinner I usually convince myself that I don’t need to go. Not tonight. z made it home safely and said he didn’t need me to pick up from the airport, so I was off to the gym.

I jogged there to see how my knee was feeling and I got a rush of energy. Once I got upstairs and shed my layers, I hopped on the treadmill. No warm up was needed so I put on my new playlist and started running.  Usually I don’t do more than 1.5 miles or 2 miles at the most, but I was feeling really good. The music was pumping, my knee felt fine and I was conscious of my breathing. I laughed to myself, “What if I just ran a 5k?” I quickly pushed that to the back of my mind thinking I’d stop around 2 miles. Once I hit 2 miles, a great song came on and I knew I couldn’t stop in the middle of it, so I kept going. Around 2.5 miles my knees and hips started to ache (wow, I’m old), but I was too close to that silly 5k mark, so…I kept going. Before I knew it I hit 3.1 miles and started my cool down. HA! I don’t run that much anymore and this showed me that I need to!

Honestly, I feel dead right now. My legs hurt. My hips hurt. I’m wheezing (damn you, leftover asthma). My face is still red. I don’t know if walking will be an option tomorrow.

I know it’s only 3.1 miles, but it was hard and rewarding 3.1 miles. Now I just have to keep it up.

I’d like to thank John Mayer, Jay-Z, Susan Tedeschi, Kings of Leon, Hanson, and Will Hoge for making all this possible.

wheezy in an apartment near Chinatown.

Leave a Reply

